Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Painting from Reference - need tips

I'm trying to paint from reference and I am having trouble making my Sims pose and capturing the image - any tips?

Comments

• CinebarCinebar Posts: 33,618 Member
    edited July 2016
    We need a pose option like in all the other games. But reference painting is still way to grainy for me. I just ignore it most of the time. I don't like grainy paintings unless they are actually aged.
    "Games Are Not The Place To Tell Stories, Games Are Meant To Let People Tell Their Own Stories"...Will Wright.
  • MVWdeZTMVWdeZT Posts: 3,267 Member
    I like to set up a microphone near the easel and have the Sim being painted talk on the microphone.
  • simstr0ngsimstr0ng Posts: 679 Member
    @Cinebar - I see your point. I took the graininess as being an impressionist style. I've only done 2 so I am new to this.
  • rosemowrosemow Posts: 163,578 Member
  • NZsimm3rNZsimm3r Posts: 9,265 Member
    If you turn off free-will/ autonomy that should help with getting the subject sim to sit still etc.
    I'm a girl who likes to play with boys, what can I say... o:)

“Instead of putting players in the role of Luke Skywalker, or Frodo Baggins, I'd rather put them in the role of George Lucas.”Will Wright.
    @rosemow - thanks - the reference painting info is very helpful. I'll try again.

@NZsimm3r - good idea - thanks
  • JRBearJRBear Posts: 190 Member
    I made a garden area near a good view and put a bench, have my subject sim sit on that for the picture
  • JRBearJRBear Posts: 190 Member
    If it is not your sim, can get them in a group and 'sit here and chat' before having your sim get up to paint
    @JRBear - excellent ideas. I'm getting better indoors - next step is outdoors.
  • StilleWaterStilleWater Posts: 1,566 Member