Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

THE SIMS ONLINE IS BACK!

13...Next

Comments

• KatNipKatNip Posts: 1,066 Member
    Where can I get this magnificent beauty?
  • jackjack_kjackjack_k Posts: 8,601 Member
    @Evil_One wrote: »
    jackjack_k wrote: »
    Evil_One wrote: »
    Yeah, watch as EA squash it flat. Any time someone tries to bring out something related to one of their products, it's rapidly hit be a cease and desist order... Even if said product is VERY old and is no longer supported.

This is something that did happen to several TSO projects in the past... the TSO Restoration project had gotten really far, and then was indeed issued a cease and desist order.This project... is a bit special. Now, I'm no coder or programmer, or anything like that, but the way it was explained to me on the FreeSO forums, was,

"1. EA doesn't care, so long as noone is earning money off of the game's assets. If they did care, they would have let us know a long time ago. 2. Even if they did care, there's not much they can do. Writing and distributing code to interact with fileformats has never been illegal, nor will it ever be."

The most basic way I've heard it explained, is that they are writing code to interact with EA's fileformats, which is also supposed to be legal. I don't know anything about the true legality of it, I just know what I've been informed of. The main developer of this project does not seem to be worried about legal issues with EA.

As it stands, the game is meant to be free. Free to own and play, even with a designated server.

Those are the plans for now, that is.

Also, the developers have seen this and;

a) Not closed the thread to discourage people from trying to obtain the game
    b) Even moved the thread to Sims discussions.

They seem fine with it.

Ahem, you were saying?

What? It is still in The Sims Discussions and not deleted..........
    edited April 2016

Link is in the video description ^^