Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Questions From A NRaas Newbie

I recently downloaded and successfully installed Overwatch to help reduce lag in Isla Paradiso, and I think it's doing a pretty good job so far. However, because I'm new to NRaas (and mods in general), I have a few questions.

1. Overwatch and ErrorTrap seem to be among the most popular mods. What's the difference between the two?
2. Why does Overwatch remove vehicles and turn off TVs?
3. Is Overwatch fine on its own, or should I use it with other mods?

I may have other questions in future, but for now any help is much appreciated.

Comments

• Okblondee7Okblondee7 Posts: 2,607 Member
    Calling on @igazor :)
  • igazorigazor Posts: 19,330 Member
    Ah me, is there no rest for the weary? :p

1 - Overwatch "watches" for and cleans up after a very long list of known problem causing conditions and annoyances within the game throughout play. Just a few examples are stuck and unroutable sims, abandoned toddlers, laundry machines on public lots that otherwise never get emptied, garden plants that otherwise get stuck in an unusable state, sims' skill learning rates that get all goofed up, sims who get stuck in the aging process. It also does a huge scan and cleanup of your world, again against a long list of known problems, at startup and every night at 3 am (sim time).

ErrorTrap captures ("traps") error conditions that can often otherwise be crash inducing or cause other sorts of problems and reports on them by way of script logs. Along the way it also captures useless shards of data from objects that do not really belong in the world you are currently playing, and from objects and sims that have really already been deleted or have become corrupt beyond all possible repair, and cleans these things up.