Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

The Art of Sims Storytelling

Comments

• Options
    CathyTeaCathyTea Posts: 23,089 Member
    @MedleyMisty I am on my way to practice cello, so I'm not taking time now to respond to the entire post: I want to come and talk about sacred story with you later this evening. I just want to say that your first chapter is perfect and exactly how it needs to be to tell the story that you are telling.
    Cathy Tea's SimLit Anthology

Do you also play The Elder Scrolls Online? You can find me there as CathyTea, too!
  • Options
    I love the term Sacred Story.

I worked as a storyteller for a while--it was one of the most magic jobs I've had. I wanted to reach back as closely as possible to oral tales--and I found transcriptions of oral fairy tales to be some of the most sacred. Grimms was a great source--and I also had this wonderful collection of folk and fairy tales from Appalachia that had been transcribed during the WPA.

So, I got to see the ways that stories healed. This was a small, independent school with smart, talented, quirky kids. I know that in many ways, each of these kids felt like an outsider when it came to the greater world and their place in it. But stories helped them to see where they fit--especially those stories with Simpleton or some small hero who found a way through his or her own sincerity and quirkiness.

One year, two kids had moms who died from breast cancer. Stories became more than a way to see where we fit at that time--they became a way to see that we could make it through the hardest, most challenging and painful times. It took more than story, of course, for these kids and this community to move through that--and story also played a role. One of the boys loved to hear the story of the Juniper tree as often as I would tell it.