August 16 - Ready for the Friday Highlight? Check it out here!
August 16 - Guru Garage day! SimGurus are ready to continue with the Guru Games - details here!
August 15 - We have updated the forum rules. Learn more here.

Testing MOO - Updated 10/21/16

BryonyRaeBryonyRae Posts: 5,181 Member
edited October 2016 in The Sims 4 Lots
Summary of Findings (as of 10/21/16)
  • 6/14/16 Graphics Glitch - Objects below a certain size elevated from a basement room above ground disappear from view when viewed from a level higher than ground level
  • 5/16/16 - Objects are shifting when builds are placed on certain lots when you are in build mode and turn bb.moveobjects on prior to placement. The problem does not occur if bb.moveobjects is off OR if it was toggled on while in Manage Worlds, prior to entering build mode on the lot. See details here. AHQ report.
  • 3/24/16 Windowbox décor objects (in the Indoor Plants category) placed outside and not against a wall drop to ground level when the lot is placed from the library/gallery
  • 2/24/16 - Bug: Certain windows placed off wall via bb.moveobjects pop up in height when lot is placed from library (details here)
  • 2/6/16 - Please let us place computers and other small appliances on the ground or other non-designated surfaces when we have bb.moveobjects turned on.
  • 2/6/16 - Let us span multiple levels with windows, enabling the entire length of the window to remain clear (details here)
  • NEW 12/14/15 - Elevating glass dance floor via bb.moveobjects carves out ground beneath it, even when inside a room, creating an ugly graphics glitch.
  • NEW 12/14/15 - Objects placed on foundation edges via bb.moveobjects may drop to the ground on some orientations but are fine on others (details here)
  • NEW 12/4/15 - Objects elevated within basement spaces (but not within a room) will now drop when placing the lot, just as if you had placed them outside.
  • NEW 12/4/15 - Water emitter f/x are now quite glitchy, depending upon the level and angle from which you are viewing them. Video here.
  • NEW 12/4/15 - Stove hoods placed outside of rooms are now dropping to the ground, or even within it. Ceiling lights do this as well. Video here. Room or no room, objects shouldn't drop when they haven't been elevated.
  • 5/12/15 Bug - Planter Boxes and other wall objects drop to be partially below ground when placed outside and not against a wall.
  • Adding/deleting walls can obliterate MOO'd (and in some cases un-moo'd) objects. (details/images here). Also, applying a paint style to the wall can cause the same behavior as well as reset height adjusted objects (details/images here; workaround here). Discovered post 12/4/15 patch, applying pool trims can do the same. AHQ report.
  • Most objects (mirrors seem to be one exception) that have been height adjusted on the first level and were not within what the game considers a room will not retain their height (see pgs 5 and 6 for details/images). This requires the builder to build a room around them and leave a floor tile under them (they can delete the walls). They cannot height adjust on terrain (and cannot just use a freely placed floor tile - the flooring must have been created via room). <-- 6/28/15 New workaround available here
  • Doors and windows cannot be freely MOO'd or stacked without graphical issues.
  • Some wall objects, such as mirrors, cannot be height adjusted down on walls (you must place the object first and then the wall). <-- 6/28/15 New workaround available here
  • Some wall objects, such as cabinets, cannot be height adjusted down when placing *off* of a wall.
  • Cannot freely MOO columns.
  • Using 0 and 9 keys on the numpad does not work properly for height adjustment; must use 0 and 9 on main keyboard.
  • Stairs cannot be freely placed with MOO.
  • Wall objects like shelves reset height when picked up again after a height adjustment. If you want to reposition them, you must also adjust their height again from scratch. Non wall objects don't lose their height but do seem to "jump" away from the spot you originally placed them.
  • Cannot freely rotate wall mirrors with ALT even when placing off wall (can use <>)
  • Height adjusted rugs take on an opaque appearance. They effectively disappear if viewed from the side or below.
  • Bars can't be used if placed within an archway.
Post edited by BryonyRae on
Visit my blog to see my creations: http://bryscreations.wordpress.com or search the gallery by my OriginID or #bryscreations

Comments

  • BryonyRaeBryonyRae Posts: 5,181 Member
    edited May 2016
    Issues that have been resolved:
    • Enlarged objects do not transfer properly when a lot is placed from Manage Worlds. Lot must be placed in Build Mode. Fixed on 5/4/15.
    • Debug objects don't transfer on the Gallery. Fixed on 3/26/15.
    • Some rugs won't height adjust (Yin & Yang Circular Rug). Fixed on 3/26/15.
    • Windows MOO'd off wall in the interior have some very funky Z-fighting effects (see pg. 8 for details). Fixed on 5/4/15.


    Post edited by BryonyRae on
    Visit my blog to see my creations: http://bryscreations.wordpress.com or search the gallery by my OriginID or #bryscreations
  • BryonyRaeBryonyRae Posts: 5,181 Member
    Doors and windows are still constrained to placing centered on their tiles. If you place them on the wall, they still snap to the preferred location. You can freely place them off the wall, but if you try to get sneaky by then adding the wall, it will create a hole where it thinks the door/window should be. :p
    Visit my blog to see my creations: http://bryscreations.wordpress.com or search the gallery by my OriginID or #bryscreations
  • petalbotpetalbot Posts: 1,423 Member
    I'll get back to working on my new home soon, I'm sure I'll be using the moveobjects cheat, but first, do the objects placed by MOO stay that way when the lot is uploaded to the gallery?

    I don't use buydebug items, simply because they don't transfer, my heart will be broken completely if MOO'd objects don't transfer.
    sigg.gif

  • BryonyRaeBryonyRae Posts: 5,181 Member
    Yeah, there's some funkiness with wall objects. You can move mirrors up walls but not down unless you place the mirror before placing the wall. :\
    Visit my blog to see my creations: http://bryscreations.wordpress.com or search the gallery by my OriginID or #bryscreations
  • friendsfan367friendsfan367 Posts: 25,926 Member
    i forgot what it does. i'm not a builder but i'm trying in sims 4.
  • BryonyRaeBryonyRae Posts: 5,181 Member
    That's why I'm looking for a fellow tester - so I can plop a MOO'd lot up on the Gallery and find out if everything transferred right or not. From my own tests (saving to library, bulldozing lot, then adding from library), it does (with the exception of the enlarged objects needing MOO on while placing the lot). But I'd like to make sure that it's the same results on someone else's computer. I think I'll just toss out my test lot (it's called And the Cow Says), and maybe someone will pick it up and let me know.
    Visit my blog to see my creations: http://bryscreations.wordpress.com or search the gallery by my OriginID or #bryscreations
  • BryonyRaeBryonyRae Posts: 5,181 Member
    @friendsfan367 it lets you place objects pretty much anywhere you want - overlapping with other objects, through the walls, etc. And now they have added the ability to adjust height by pressing 9 (up) and 0 (down), so it's quite spectacular!
    Visit my blog to see my creations: http://bryscreations.wordpress.com or search the gallery by my OriginID or #bryscreations
  • BryonyRaeBryonyRae Posts: 5,181 Member
    Okay, I've got two test lots out there. One just has some MOO scenarios, and the second (And the Cow Says 2) has an enlarged object overlapping them. I hope someone will grab them and see if the stuff is sticking. Make sure your MOO is turned on when you place the second one, but you should need it on for the first.
    Visit my blog to see my creations: http://bryscreations.wordpress.com or search the gallery by my OriginID or #bryscreations
  • BryonyRaeBryonyRae Posts: 5,181 Member
    edited December 2014
    @petalbot I wonder if debug objects transfer now. I'll put out a third test with a couple of them... It's called And the Cow Says debug? :p
    Visit my blog to see my creations: http://bryscreations.wordpress.com or search the gallery by my OriginID or #bryscreations
  • friendsfan367friendsfan367 Posts: 25,926 Member
    BryonyRae wrote: »
    @friendsfan367 it lets you place objects pretty much anywhere you want - overlapping with other objects, through the walls, etc. And now they have added the ability to adjust height by pressing 9 (up) and 0 (down), so it's quite spectacular!

    thank you. that sounds cool i will try building today since new careers means a new family .
  • BryonyRaeBryonyRae Posts: 5,181 Member
    So thanks to @Tiki5872, we're able to verify that the MOO'd stuff transfers fine. Debug objects still don't transfer. I'd like to get more testing done with the enlarged and MOO'd objects. In my game, I had to have MOO turned on to place my And the Cow Says 2 lot without losing the objects, but Tiki said they came over okay on hers without it on. Anyone else able to try it?
    Visit my blog to see my creations: http://bryscreations.wordpress.com or search the gallery by my OriginID or #bryscreations
  • treece01treece01 Posts: 995 Member
    @BryonyRae & @Tiki5872, thanks for testing MOO & Debug objects. Brain is not at build functioning level right now but looking forward to using it soon.
    19172275569_bb0181ed75.jpgGingerThyme; by T Reece, on Flickr
  • BryonyRaeBryonyRae Posts: 5,181 Member
    edited December 2014
    It appears that enlarged objects still shrink if you place the lot from Manage Worlds instead of in Build Mode. Darn! And it appears that it will also obliterate MOO'd stuff too.
    Visit my blog to see my creations: http://bryscreations.wordpress.com or search the gallery by my OriginID or #bryscreations
  • BryonyRaeBryonyRae Posts: 5,181 Member
    Yes, in order to preserve MOO'd objects, the downloaders will need to place the lot in Build Mode, not from Manage Worlds. This will be important to note when you publish a lot.
    Visit my blog to see my creations: http://bryscreations.wordpress.com or search the gallery by my OriginID or #bryscreations
  • BryonyRaeBryonyRae Posts: 5,181 Member
    Thanks to @J0L1990 for helping me do some additional testing that uncovered the above! Also, in her testing of my And the Cow Says 2 lot, she had the same issue I had. When she placed the lot without MOO on, the enlarged object disappeared; she had to have MOO on for it to stay put. I think that is going to be the case more than not if you use MOO with an enlarged object to overlap it, so be prepared to note that when you publish your lot.
    Visit my blog to see my creations: http://bryscreations.wordpress.com or search the gallery by my OriginID or #bryscreations
  • BryonyRaeBryonyRae Posts: 5,181 Member
    edited December 2014
    We still cannot freely move and place columns. :\ You can, however, float them. :p
    Visit my blog to see my creations: http://bryscreations.wordpress.com or search the gallery by my OriginID or #bryscreations
  • BryonyRaeBryonyRae Posts: 5,181 Member
    I'm going to hop over to the Build Mode Feedback thread now to update it and see what else ought to be tested in light of these additional cheats. Obviously, I just tested a few objects so far, and there are a ton more. If anyone else gets to testing and discovers something important, please let us know!
    Visit my blog to see my creations: http://bryscreations.wordpress.com or search the gallery by my OriginID or #bryscreations
  • ManssomManssom Posts: 4,159 Member
    Floating columns.. I like it :) lol

    Love that they brought MOO back! I am using it as we speak :D
  • BryonyRaeBryonyRae Posts: 5,181 Member
    With MOO on, we can now intersect objects with roofs. Take that, roofs! :D
    Visit my blog to see my creations: http://bryscreations.wordpress.com or search the gallery by my OriginID or #bryscreations
  • petalbotpetalbot Posts: 1,423 Member
    BryonyRae wrote: »
    @petalbot I wonder if debug objects transfer now. I'll put out a third test with a couple of them... It's called And the Cow Says debug? :p

    Cool! I'll down load the test lots. I can take pictures of them if you like so you can see how the lot downloaded.

    sigg.gif

  • friendsfan367friendsfan367 Posts: 25,926 Member
    Manssom wrote: »
    Floating columns.. I like it :) lol

    Love that they brought MOO back! I am using it as we speak :D

    i still have no idea how to
    use columns . i know where thy are but i never figured out how to build with them.
  • BryonyRaeBryonyRae Posts: 5,181 Member
    @petalbot No need, already had them tested, and they still don't transfer. Sorry!
    Visit my blog to see my creations: http://bryscreations.wordpress.com or search the gallery by my OriginID or #bryscreations
  • BryonyRaeBryonyRae Posts: 5,181 Member
    For those following this thread, I've put a summary of my discoveries on the Build Mode Feedback thread and have also updated the index post of that thread (page 1). It's worth reading because the addition of MOO rendered many of the requests unnecessary - go see what you can do now. :) Also, Maxis fixed some glitches. :D I will likely post further feedback that I have there.
    Visit my blog to see my creations: http://bryscreations.wordpress.com or search the gallery by my OriginID or #bryscreations
  • BryonyRaeBryonyRae Posts: 5,181 Member
    @friendsfan367 They are really just décor. You don't actually need them for any structural purpose in TS4.
    Visit my blog to see my creations: http://bryscreations.wordpress.com or search the gallery by my OriginID or #bryscreations
  • CerryddCerrydd Posts: 448 Member
    If we can 'float' columns, does that mean we now can stack 2 columns on each other without adding a floor tile between them? (haven't had time to play yet)
    What have I been up to lately? Cerrydd / #cerrydd in the gallery
Sign In or Register to comment.
Return to top