Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Best way to recolor over pattern? (and showing off recolors!)

simfeetundersimfeetunder Posts: 2,260 Member
edited August 2014 in General Mods Discussion
Let's say I want to apply a new pattern over one of the maxi dresses, I mean, I could completely color over it but that'd murder the shading/highlights of it.
I've been using photoshop (of once sort or another) for 18 years but this is past me right now. haha
HSon1Mq.png
Post edited by simfeetunder on

Comments

• simfeetundersimfeetunder Posts: 2,260 Member
    Anyone?
    HSon1Mq.png
  • QuelsimmyQuelsimmy Posts: 531 Member
    edited August 2014
    @simfeetunder Put the new color/pattern as a different layer. Then play around with opacity & layer settings. The shading should come through. It might be good to desaturate the template first though, since the color will show through otherwise.
    There's also a guide here: https://www.platinumsimmers.com/articles/simple-retexturing-for-the-sims-4/

EDIT: as for already existing patterns, you can try to slowly use clone tool to remove the patterned pieces
  • Srikandi715Srikandi715 Posts: 1,753 Member
    I've been stymied by this too. I think the only solution is to completely remove the existing pattern, and then paint back any folds, seams etc. you want. The bump map is still there, and of course any detail present in the actual model... I found that when I de-textured the maxidress, for instance, and made it all black, for instance, it still had an acceptable amount of detail (to me at least ;) ) The folds at the waist and bust were in the bumpmap.
    Thanks for responding @Quelsimmy and @Srikandi715 the maxi dress is exactly what I was struggling with! I've tried a variety of things (different settings and opacities and layers and...) with no luck so far. I had one done but when I mouseover it in the CAS it crashes so I can't even test it. Oops
    HSon1Mq.png