I found the method to put diving areas in other map

Comments

  • PasitheaPasithea Posts: 179 Member
    edited June 2013
    THANK YOOOUUUU! I wanted to set up some diving areas in Sunlit Tides because my game lags SO HARD in Isla Paradiso. It's just too huge of a map and there is way too much stuff happening in it. My poor laptop can't take it. D=

    I set up a crapload of ports all over the area but only have two house boats at the moment so my game won't be hurting from all the activity. I also only have one resort which makes things run smoother as well. =) (And Sunlit Tides is just prettier than Isla Paradiso. lol)

    This is extremely helpful! Thanks again! <3
    I love to build homes and venues. It helps me relieve stress after long days at work.
    You can view my Gallery HERE
  • GreyWindGreyWind Posts: 474 Member
    edited June 2013
    How can I add sharks?
  • michellehilbrandmichellehilbrand Posts: 2,326 Member
    edited July 2013
    The sharks come from spawners in buydebug . They have surface sharks and under water sharks.
  • nanna021nanna021 Posts: 234 Member
    edited July 2013
    Thanks. I appreciate this.
    I can do all things through Christ which strengthens me.
  • RockoutDarciRockoutDarci Posts: 3,092 Member
    edited July 2013
    Has anyone been able to actually interact with the diving area i.e. not have it cancel immediately out of queue after placing it?

    I can get the diving area placed in Sunset Valley, but anytime my Sims try to go near it their action queue completely cancels.
    I've had this problem, with the buoy floating in the air and everything. But I managed to solve it and here's how:

    What you do is use the cheat 'constrainFloorElevation false'

    Go into edit town mode

    select the dive lot (unlock it if its locked), then click on build mode

    click the 'flatten lot' button, it might take a few seconds.

    This should flatten the whole lot. Click on the buoy and it should be able to be placed on the surface!

    go back out to edit town mode, lock the lot, save & exit to main menu, go back, and it should be usable now :-)

    Thanks SO much for explaining this! I've had this issue as well and couldn't figure it out. I just figured I placed it funky and tried again, I've had some of them work and some of them have been glitchy like this or difficult to place/fix.

    I have a question though, I've scoured the internetz and forums for the answer and can't figure it out. When people say "Lock the lot" what exactly does that mean? Is there a button somewhere that you can push that locks and unlocks the lot, because I've been looking ALL over my game for it.

    I'm not completely a n00b beginner builder either. I've created WA tombs and been around the building blocks a few times, but I'm no expert. So, this I've never had to use...or at least I don't think I have and I'm so confused! LOL! Help! :oops: :mrgreen:

    If possible can someone PLEASE post pictures of what this means, I have major dyslexia and it's difficult for me sometimes to figure out a problem with just text, though I'll REALLY try if I have to.

    THANK YOU! In advance. :mrgreen: :D
    Love Like A Snail: An Inter.s.e.x. Story.
    thefoxsims.weebly.com/
    3825869_orig.png
  • perfectvelvetperfectvelvet Posts: 739 New Member
    edited July 2013
    The "lot locking" button is on the lot screen (where you click build/buy or change the type of lot). It looks like a padlock. You can click it on or off.

    It allows you to edit buildings in University as well (which is the only other time I've ever used it).
  • RockoutDarciRockoutDarci Posts: 3,092 Member
    edited July 2013
    The "lot locking" button is on the lot screen (where you click build/buy or change the type of lot). It looks like a padlock. You can click it on or off.

    It allows you to edit buildings in University as well (which is the only other time I've ever used it).

    OMG! Thank you so much!! I'll go try this, it sound simple enough. :mrgreen:
    Love Like A Snail: An Inter.s.e.x. Story.
    thefoxsims.weebly.com/
    3825869_orig.png
  • WeealbetWeealbet Posts: 1,105 Member
    edited July 2013
    When following the instructions provided, I am encountering the same problem over and over.

    I place the lot in Aurora Skies and all is fine. The problem I get is that the buoy and the shark spawner float in the air. I use CFE to flatten the lot, remove/move the buoy and spawner and then get get the floor to the previous state. Everything looks the way it should - the buoy and spawner float at sea level, but when Sims come to dive they float right up into the air. The same goes for boats too.

    I also have the problem that if I do move the two items, when I click on them to go diving, the action cancels itself out. If I click on the map tag they can dive, but they still float in the air.

    I also tried this in Sunlit Tides with the same results.
  • Rosiesim999Rosiesim999 Posts: 1,004 Member
    edited July 2013
    Put a 64x64 lot in the sea and choose lot type as diving area then put the exported one in it. It should show some mess like this picture. You don't need to level the terrain. But remember to check again lot type after you put diving area.

    Just ignore it , save and quit to main menu and reload the map. Then you should have a functional and normal diving area now, enjoy it! It's a diving area clearly in Sunset Valley.

    Ahha, this was the step I was missing!

    Thanks very much. I shall try it out later :)
  • JEREMYSIMS01JEREMYSIMS01 Posts: 727 Member
    edited July 2013
    Weealbet wrote:
    When following the instructions provided, I am encountering the same problem over and over.

    I place the lot in Aurora Skies and all is fine. The problem I get is that the buoy and the shark spawner float in the air. I use CFE to flatten the lot, remove/move the buoy and spawner and then get get the floor to the previous state. Everything looks the way it should - the buoy and spawner float at sea level, but when Sims come to dive they float right up into the air. The same goes for boats too.

    I also have the problem that if I do move the two items, when I click on them to go diving, the action cancels itself out. If I click on the map tag they can dive, but they still float in the air.

    I also tried this in Sunlit Tides with the same results.

    After using CFE, you may want to try deleting the floating items with the sledgehammer and then UNDO immediately after. Normally this will reset the floating items to proper position. I was able to get Rocky Reef imported into DV this way. I am going to do some additional testing today, but it looks like everything is now working properly. Before I tried this, my sims were hovering 3 stories above the diving area.
    Sims4SIG_zps6253f8f2.jpg
  • yoshi_dragur2012yoshi_dragur2012 Posts: 1,629 Member
    edited July 2013
    Weealbet wrote:
    When following the instructions provided, I am encountering the same problem over and over.

    I place the lot in Aurora Skies and all is fine. The problem I get is that the buoy and the shark spawner float in the air. I use CFE to flatten the lot, remove/move the buoy and spawner and then get get the floor to the previous state. Everything looks the way it should - the buoy and spawner float at sea level, but when Sims come to dive they float right up into the air. The same goes for boats too.

    I also have the problem that if I do move the two items, when I click on them to go diving, the action cancels itself out. If I click on the map tag they can dive, but they still float in the air.

    I also tried this in Sunlit Tides with the same results.
    I think this has a lot to do with the way how the lot was created as a dive lot. It appears there may be routing issues associated with the creation method as well. For example, routing is setup to work with the underwater lots in IP. But they aren't in the other worlds.

    I'm thinking this may be why your sims can't dive. Because so far, my only working SV dive lots are the ones I created in IP. I used the beginner dive lot as a template to create each of these working dive lots. I've successfully made lots with sunken rabbit holes, to community lots, and a customized sunken residential lot (see pics & movie links). I also placed underwater tombs like the sphinx and pyramid of the burning sands in IP. In all cases, sims were able to dive in these. Exported these IP designed lots to SV and they worked fine. However, for the lots created in SV, sims would take a watercraft to the area. They could swim around on the lot, but could not dive.

    McDonalds test lot with the Sphinx in SV. This lot was designed in SV.
    Notice the dive well on the ocean floor. My sims could directly teleport to this dive well from his house. But once there, he couldn't do scuba diving animations, move or interact with anything (since the game still thought he was adventuring on land somewhere). Had to use the teleport cheat to get him back to land.
    Screenshot-39_zps21d97355.jpg
    Screenshot-44_zpsd7783fd3.jpg
    Screenshot-46_zpsed3b6239.jpg

    This sim could also teleport from a dive lot at his house to other dive wells on this lot located in the basement levels below the ocean floor. He was able to move around just fine---i.e. interact with stuff like the time machine, nectar rack etc---in the basement rooms. I'm going to use this idea to build an underwater nectary and conserve basement space on land! :mrgreen:
    Screenshot-43_zps65b7b452.jpg
  • yoshi_dragur2012yoshi_dragur2012 Posts: 1,629 Member
    edited July 2013
    dp
    Post edited by Unknown User on
  • yoshi_dragur2012yoshi_dragur2012 Posts: 1,629 Member
    edited July 2013
    Weealbet wrote:
    When following the instructions provided, I am encountering the same problem over and over.

    I place the lot in Aurora Skies and all is fine. The problem I get is that the buoy and the shark spawner float in the air. I use CFE to flatten the lot, remove/move the buoy and spawner and then get get the floor to the previous state. Everything looks the way it should - the buoy and spawner float at sea level, but when Sims come to dive they float right up into the air. The same goes for boats too.

    I also have the problem that if I do move the two items, when I click on them to go diving, the action cancels itself out. If I click on the map tag they can dive, but they still float in the air.

    I also tried this in Sunlit Tides with the same results.
    Did you activate the enablelotlocking and debug cheats? You can't zone any of the lots in non IP worlds as dive lots without enabling this toggle. I also think this may be associated with routing. If I don't use the IP dive lots as template to create new ones, my sims can't use them. I've created several functional dive lots and exported them to SV.

    A test lot in SV with a McD diner rabbit hole. Notice the diving well in the pic. My sim could teleport directly to this from his house on land. He couldn't move or interact with anything once he got there though. But that was to be expected.

    [IMG]http://i1062.photobucket.com/albums/t496/Tholian2012/Underwater SV lots/Screenshot-39_zps21d97355.jpg "width=640"[/IMG]

    [IMG]http://i1062.photobucket.com/albums/t496/Tholian2012/Underwater SV lots/Screenshot-44_zpsd7783fd3.jpg "width=640"[/IMG]

    [IMG]http://i1062.photobucket.com/albums/t496/Tholian2012/Underwater SV lots/Screenshot-46_zpsed3b6239.jpg "width=640"[/IMG]

    Besides this my sim could also teleport directly to dive wells in the basement levels under the ocean floor in these 2 rooms. I had him directly teleport to the level 1(red color) dive well. I set this up to have him teleport to the level 2 (purple color) dive well:
    [IMG]http://i1062.photobucket.com/albums/t496/Tholian2012/Underwater SV lots/Screenshot-43_zps65b7b452.jpg "width=640"[/IMG]

    This time, he was able to move around and interact with all the items in both these rooms. These included the time machine. I set this to take him back to the ocean floor where he again couldn't move. So I changed the destination of the level 2 well to his home dive well (which was on land in SV). Sim could move freely between his house and this community lot after that. :mrgreen:

    This means 3 things: First using dive wells means we can build underwater nectaries, restaurants etc. provided your sims never attempt to access the ocean floor.

    Second, It is now possible to build underwater residential lots in worlds where space is premium! Just like in ST and SV. :mrgreen:
  • yoshi_dragur2012yoshi_dragur2012 Posts: 1,629 Member
    edited July 2013
    And the 3rd coolest thing: We can now create underwater tombs! :mrgreen: 8) <br>

    Outside of the pyramid Burning Sands in IP. The depth of the beginner dive lot was a lot shallower than expected, based on the Pyramid height. It literally got in the way of townie water traffic on the waterfront :lol: I also tried this dive lot with the Sphinx tomb. This was short enough to be completely submerged underwater. 8)

    Here's the video:

    As expected, my sim couldn't enter the pyramid tomb. But she was able to normally explore the outside of the lot. After several moments of walking around on water in the video, my sim finally scuba dived at 1:45 :lol:

    [IMG]http://i1062.photobucket.com/albums/t496/Tholian2012/Underwater SV lots/Screenshot-62_zps0e004b18.jpg "width=640"[/IMG]

    Emphasizing: Sims can swim on the outside normally on a dive, but can't enter rabbit holes, tombs or sunken buildings. You need to use dive wells to enter these buildings.

    But note again, these dive wells should not be placed on the ocean floor or in any room at the ocean floor level. They must be placed in the basement levels(i.e where the outside tomb exterior is black and not blue). If not,your sims will NOT be able to move about and/or interact with their environment.

    Also sims who use dive wells to enter underwater tombs will not experience the de-pressured moodlet. Apparently the game still thinks they're tomb raiding on land :lol:
  • yoshi_dragur2012yoshi_dragur2012 Posts: 1,629 Member
    edited July 2013
    Final bit of picture spam--some more diving pics with submerged buildings:

    A sunken house lot in SV bay (just before the light house). This dive was done at night, so the water is very dark. Sim had no issues exploring the lot however.



    [IMG]http://i1062.photobucket.com/albums/t496/Tholian2012/Underwater SV lots/Screenshot-86_zps5f5a4d8a.jpg "width=640"[/IMG]

    [IMG]http://i1062.photobucket.com/albums/t496/Tholian2012/Underwater SV lots/Screenshot-85_zps4cf39070.jpg "width=640"[/IMG]

    the butterfly dome another imported sunken lot. Some fish spawners were left on the surface after the lot sank.
    [IMG]http://i1062.photobucket.com/albums/t496/Tholian2012/Underwater SV lots/Screenshot-81_zps6bbc797c.jpg "width=640"[/IMG]

    [IMG]http://i1062.photobucket.com/albums/t496/Tholian2012/Underwater SV lots/Screenshot-87_zpsc62e7c6f.jpg "width=640"[/IMG]

    [IMG]http://i1062.photobucket.com/albums/t496/Tholian2012/Underwater SV lots/Screenshot-79_zpsa66d6592.jpg "width=640"[/IMG]

    Scuba diving at McD's in IP via the dive well way.
    [IMG]http://i1062.photobucket.com/albums/t496/Tholian2012/Underwater SV lots/Screenshot-47_zpsb74263d8.jpg "width=640"[/IMG]

    Samarra emerges, doing her impression of "The Ring" :lol: As expected, epic fail. My sim Samarra couldn't move after exiting well
    [IMG]http://i1062.photobucket.com/albums/t496/Tholian2012/Underwater SV lots/Screenshot-49_zpsf09628e1.jpg "width=640"[/IMG]
    [IMG]http://i1062.photobucket.com/albums/t496/Tholian2012/Underwater SV lots/Screenshot-50_zps4b892826.jpg "width=640"[/IMG]
    [IMG]http://i1062.photobucket.com/albums/t496/Tholian2012/Underwater SV lots/Screenshot-51_zps6d09e48a.jpg "width=640"[/IMG]

    Samrra revisits lot the normal scuba diving way...
    [IMG]http://i1062.photobucket.com/albums/t496/Tholian2012/Underwater SV lots/Screenshot-53_zpsa334dd65.jpg "width=640"[/IMG]

    Shortly after which the Dread Captain Dregg decided to make an appearance
    [IMG]http://i1062.photobucket.com/albums/t496/Tholian2012/Underwater SV lots/Screenshot-52_zpsdb65e1b4.jpg "width=640"[/IMG]

    And then decided to hangout with her for the rest of the dive :lol: Notice the functioning tomb traps on the ocean floor. Sims can't interact with them, so this is only a visual effect. But a really cool visual still.

    [IMG]http://i1062.photobucket.com/albums/t496/Tholian2012/Underwater SV lots/Screenshot-54_zpsf6b1683e.jpg "width=640"[/IMG]

    Final note: In each of these tombs, I turned on the enablelotlocking, buydebug, floor elevation constraint and MOO cheats. I made these lots in IP before exporting them to the library for non IP worlds. Also made sure they had a buoy (with difficulty dive level preset) before exporting them.

    In all cases, the lots were 100% functional. Finally, my sim was lvl 7 and had no issues staying below the surface. So yeah, this procedure definitely works! :D
  • ClarinetHero734ClarinetHero734 Posts: 44 New Member
    edited July 2013
    is there any way way to create a custom dive lot?
  • hippiechick7897hippiechick7897 Posts: 302 Member
    edited July 2013
    That dive lot looks crystal clear. Every time I go diving it's always super murky.
    Tomorrow has been cancelled due to a lack of interest.

    giphy.gif
  • XxIRISH_FANxXXxIRISH_FANxX Posts: 67
    edited July 2013
    The picture of sunlit tides how did your et the skies so butifull it looks nice
  • WeealbetWeealbet Posts: 1,105 Member
    edited July 2013
    Thank you for trying to help. I had done everything you had suggested by to no avail. My Sims were still floating (as were boats) high above the sea level. I gave up and started looking for alternatives.

    I ended up coming up with my own methods to create custom dive lots in other worlds and they all work perfectly (with a tiny little jump when then enter the lot space, but they go back down right after). I ended up recording a tutorial on how to create custom lots and put it on my YouTube channel.

    Thank you for trying to help though :)
  • kateoverendkateoverend Posts: 7,894 Member
    edited July 2013
    Thank you IronboatLee :)
    lWrFCMn.gif
  • FatemehYaFatemehYa Posts: 10
    edited July 2013
    Thank you so much , so helpful :P
  • ElisielElisiel Posts: 56 Member
    edited August 2013
    Thank you very much IronboatLee :D
  • Simsister2004Simsister2004 Posts: 3,375 Member
    edited August 2013
    Would you care to share which lighting mods you use?? :)

    It's from Buhudain's Environment Lightning Tweaks

    Also I successfully put diving area in Sunlit Tides, later I'll update first post

    Thank you very much. Yes, I already found out that Sunlit Tides fits perfectly with Island Paradise. I am so happy I have this World.
    I am afraid that you can have some trouble with the sauna's mudbathing, which causes the age in the entire Family to stop. :roll:
  • oliversnowballoliversnowball Posts: 68
    edited January 2014
    Awesome!!! Woked like a charm! Thank you.


    Ollie Snow
  • stickykissesstickykisses Posts: 2,001 Member
    edited January 2014
    Great thread, great info, great links. wow, much thanks IronboatLee!! Definitely bookmarking! :D
Sign In or Register to comment.
Return to top