We have a new survey live for you to provide feedback on the new EA forums! Click here to read more.
Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

1.55 Patch - How To Install, Problems & Fixes- READ FIRST 2 POST

Hi all, Dawn and I have created this thread to try to help all* with installing the IP Patch and any problems related to installing the Patch or any fun computer issues that may come up after installing :)

IMPORTANT- please note all IP game bug related problems (like mailbox isnt working) should be posted at the IP Bug Thread, http://forum.thesims3.com/jforum/posts/list/686687.page

together lets keep our games running!





What to do before patching

see Crinrict's blog for definitive steps here

The Cheat Sheet:
1.Make a backup of your game files. IMPORTANT PATCH CAN ALTER INSTALLED CONTENT
Go to my documents/Electronic Arts/Sims 3 right click COPY on Sims 3 folder and then go to desktop and right click PASTE

2.Clean out cache files. For how see here

3.Pull out your mods folder if you have one. Dont return any mods unless updated for the new patch

What to do after patching

-Test patch in a new world. Game Launcher at Installed Content select Run Without CC and keep mods folder out if you have one. Launch a test game to see if there are any problems. Save and exit. Return mods folder (of course keep out outdated mods) and turn CC back on at launcher and return to test world. If no problems enjoy saved games!

IMPORTANT - if you skipped steps 2 and 3 above and are having any issues in the game close out the game and try the steps.

If you have problems installing patch

Including if you are getting "Update error: found invalid file" or "Cant connect to Origin"

Use the manual super patch:
Super patch PC link - Please note the advice given here, including if you have problems to run the patch as an administrator
http://forum.thesims3.com/jforum/posts/list/175477.page

MAC manual super patch link
http://forum.thesims3.com/jforum/posts/list/549552.page

If you have problems installing the manual super patch try the following:
-Switch web browser and confirm anti virus isnt blocking the download
-Run the patch as an administrator - see super patch link for how.

If you have any problems after installing patch

- Go to my documents/Electronic Arts/Sims 3 Drag the Sims 3 folder to the desktop. Launch a new game and test. If this fixes the problem SAVE the test game and exit. Return saved material from the older files to the new ones.

for help with which files to move back to new folder see this list of all sims 3 doc files to see which old ones you want to put into the new files here. See also this for more info

IMPORTANT - when moving old files to new test each move to confirm that file isnt corrupted. See next Launcher is Slow for why.


LAUNCHER IS SLOW


it is possible that your launcher is taking a long time to load and could evidently stop functioning because the patch may have corrupted your installed sims3packs.

the fix PULL out the content of the following folders: download folder, dccache files, dcbackup and reinstall from the original source the sims3packs. (Note you can create a backup file on your desktop to store the content but note if this does fix your problem these files are probably corrupted)

also try deleting the downloadedsims.index in your saved sims folder

a quick test to see if its your installed content that is corrupted - pull your sims 3 doc folder to the desktop and launch a test game save and exit. next switch out your new dccache file with old - now test launching again. if it slows down then its your installed content.

please note Crinrict has created a thread on this subject hoping the gurus will respond to a fix in the patch that seems to be causing this issues: http://forum.thesims3.com/jforum/posts/list/687927.page


Moving Sims 3 Doc Folder didnt Fix Problem, including BLACK SCREEN CRASH or Missing Buy/build
Very Important - first test the game with a new sims 3 doc folder. If you still have the problem then try:

The fix- Pull to the desktop your sims 3 doc folder, uninstall just the base game, run a ccleaner to remove leftover registry keys, reinstall base and add super patch. Use the manual super patch, find links above.

how to uninstall plus more info on ccleaner see
http://simswiki.info/wiki.php?title=Game_Help:TS3_Uninstall


Please post back results for others and thanks!!

*MAC USERS - please note these are PC focused solutions, please seek help in mac discussion, try starting at the Mac help thread http://forum.thesims3.com/jforum/posts/list/658546.page









Comments

  • DawnLBrownDawnLBrown Posts: 9,193 Member
    edited June 2013
    Okay, so I've been a patching guinea pig. I was able to patch using the Launcher just now. Everything went as planned. Just follow the directions and the incremental patching through the Launcher should work for you too. But this thread is here to help you if you do happen to run into issues. Updated 6/18/13 1:10 EST. I moved my The Sims 3 folder to the Desktop while I patched and then moved it back. I recommend this to all of you.

    Instructions if you have modified GraphicCards.sgr and Graphicrules.sgr files

    Patching instructions if you have modified your GraphicCards.sgr and GraphicRules.sgr to get the game to recognize your new graphics card. See this section "Patching Instructions if you did this" in this link http://sims3.crinrict.com/en/2013/06/getting-the-game-to-recognize-your-card.html
    Post edited by Unknown User on
  • ceejay402ceejay402 Posts: 24,507 Member
    edited June 2013
    reserve
  • jacqpinksjacqpinks Posts: 2,118 Member
    edited June 2013
    I re name my Sims folder and let the game generate new files saves moving files about :)
    Jacqpinks ♥'s The Sims
  • ceejay402ceejay402 Posts: 24,507 Member
    edited June 2013
    jacqpinks wrote:
    I re name my Sims folder and let the game generate new files saves moving files about :)

    thanks jacqpinks, yes i agree u can also rename the folder, but i like to play it safe, im not totally confident the old files arent being read, so by dragging the folder to desktop it should remove this chance.
  • Bronwin2Bronwin2 Posts: 2,010 Member
    edited June 2013
    As ceejay knows I am a renamer, but we agree that the critical thing is to get the entire user data folder out of the way before patching. If you don't you are simply asking for a failed patch.

    See my guide:

    http://forum.thesims3.com/jforum/posts/list/657008.page

    Ok, I attempted to download and got a "Cannot connect to Origin" message. I launched Origin, re-launched the launcher and it connected.

    I followed my guide and the patch downloaded and installed with no problems.

    I played a clean test game and everything seems to be fine: I didn't move a sim to another world, but the lots placed in the ocean and the new foundations seemed to work ok; the ladder worked ok, but you have to place a floor tile to one side; the swimming pool blueprints seem to be fine.
    Post edited by Unknown User on
  • crinrictcrinrict Posts: 18,766 Member
    edited June 2013
    Here's my patching post: http://sims3.crinrict.com/en/2011/01/tutorial-what-to-do-before-patching.html

    I'll be making a post for the Patch as soon as it's out.

    This is also a very important link: http://nraas.wikispaces.com/State+of+the+Mod

    Off to do some RL stuff. I shall be back later (maybe we'll all get disappointed and we get it tomorrow or even in a week from now :P)
    Crinrict's Help Blogs -- Twitter
    Please do not send me PMs/post on my wall if you're looking for help. I can't attend to those. You can find me at AnswerHQ.
    How to report bugs at AnswersHQ
    AHQ Tutorial

  • ceejay402ceejay402 Posts: 24,507 Member
    edited June 2013
    thanks all!

  • AmaraRenaAmaraRena Posts: 6,533 Member
    edited June 2013
    Thanks for all the wonderful information here! I clearly have my work cut out for me. :(
  • KarritzKarritz Posts: 21,871 Member
    edited June 2013
    I patched successfully and my sim has no problems practicing speech with wall mirror or standing mirror.

    ==============================================================

    I found 2 bugs today. I'm not sure if they are new so I made a post in the Creative Corner forum to see if anyone can tell me if they are known bugs from before or if they are new.

    http://forum.thesims3.com/jforum/posts/list/688459.page

    Post edited by Unknown User on
  • ceejay402ceejay402 Posts: 24,507 Member
    edited June 2013
    hi karritz and Bronwin2, sorry for any confusion but no need to reserve for this thread :)
  • sunshineandsimoleonssunshineandsimoleons Posts: 8,413 Member
    edited June 2013
    Thanks for this guys! :)
    WLfAA9V.png
  • ceejay402ceejay402 Posts: 24,507 Member
    edited June 2013
    you bet brookesaywhatx!
  • jak135jak135 Posts: 1,138 Member
    edited June 2013
    I'm a little confused...Did the IP patch come out already?
  • ceejay402ceejay402 Posts: 24,507 Member
    edited June 2013
    jak135 wrote:
    I'm a little confused...Did the IP patch come out already?

    hi jak! sorry for the confusion the patch hasnt been released yet, but it could be released anytime starting today.
  • jak135jak135 Posts: 1,138 Member
    edited June 2013
    Hey ceejay! Thank you! I'll be looking for it.
  • DawnLBrownDawnLBrown Posts: 9,193 Member
    edited June 2013
    Bump!
  • sdhoeysdhoey Posts: 1,876 Member
    edited June 2013
    My launcher is already saying there is but it's not showing it in the details. LOL Well not be doing this yet!!

    launcher_zps561ebd68.png
  • ceejay402ceejay402 Posts: 24,507 Member
    edited June 2013
    Can anyone patch yet?
  • ceejay402ceejay402 Posts: 24,507 Member
    edited June 2013
    If you are having the following error cant connect to origin try the following:

    logging out of game launcher, closing origin clean out cookies/histoy of IE (origin uses it even if u dont) rebooting computer then open origin confirm updated and then trying launcher again

    if this doesnt work try manual super patch either wait for the link here to be updated or use simsvip

  • ceejay402ceejay402 Posts: 24,507 Member
    edited June 2013
    until the official link here is updated for manual super patch links see crinrict's blog

    http://sims3.crinrict.com/en/2013/06/patch-1-55.html
  • ArowanArowan Posts: 4 New Member
    edited June 2013
    So after a long hiatus, I just installed Origin, Sims 3, and a few expansion packs onto my new laptop. I haven't even played the game yet, because this patch keeps crashing when it tries to install.

    I get an error "Invalid File Found" and whatnot, leading me to believe that my patcher corrupted somehow... but after 4 attempts, I still cannot, for the life of me, get this patch to install.

    Kind of annoying, actually. As far as I'm aware of, everything should be up to date, since I installed it all for the first time yesterday/this morning, and all my other patches went through properly.
  • DawnLBrownDawnLBrown Posts: 9,193 Member
    edited June 2013
    Arowan,

    You'll need to use the Super Patch. See this link.

    http://sims3.crinrict.com/en/2013/06/patch-1-55.html
  • suepeasuepea Posts: 1,832 Member
    edited June 2013
    Mac link?

    :roll:

    h2xmsbl]
  • DawnLBrownDawnLBrown Posts: 9,193 Member
    edited June 2013
    suepea wrote:
    Mac link?

    :roll:

    Sorry, I don't have a Mac link yet. As soon as we do, we'll add it here.
  • ceejay402ceejay402 Posts: 24,507 Member
    edited June 2013
    suepea wrote:
    Mac link?

    :roll:

    dawn is correct we dont have one yet but another mac user said they kept refreshing launcher and that finally worked. also make sure origin is up to date and try cleaning out IE cookies/history

    good luck!
Sign In or Register to comment.
Return to top