Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

My Error 12 Ponderings

Hello fellow simmers!

I've been having trouble in my game and I want to know what you all think I should do. :) My current wishacy game is beset by that terror known as error 12. It is getting more frequent and I'm to the point that I can't get through 2 sim days without that blasted error showing up. I save every 6 sim hours as a precaution (if I lose the save, I only lost 6 hours instead of a full day, you follow me?). I have Twallan's Overwatch and Master Controller and they both work fine and are updated to the newest version. I have never had the error 12 problem until I installed Generations, so bear with me as I am rather new to my game not working! :D My family is around generation 3/4ish and I would really love not to lose all of my hard work. I have figured that my save file is too large (which I've read countless threads on Generations and the memory systems that bloat the save) and that memories are the root of my problem. I have set the Master Controller to not create any new memories.

Option A: I keep playing as is, and continuing my family at a snail's pace. To minimize the save file, I keep deleting memories around town, hoping it frees enough space. Upside: I get to keep my family, their relationships, and watch the family members I kicked out along the way. Downside: The save file is still huge (as I tried this yesterday and still got error 12) and I don't think I can possibly delete every single sim memory in the neighborhood.