Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Help with transfering game to a different drive

Hi!
I have a newish gaming laptop that has a small SSD on my default drive (C), and a much larger hard drive on D. When I first installed The Sims 4 - the option to save to drive D was not working - it kept saving to the default SSD (Drive C).

Now here's my question - am I able to transfer my game on drive C to drive D? I am running out of space on my SSD and with City Living coming, I need to make some room.

Will this cause any problems with my custom content and mods?

(I am not a techie, so please use terms a computer n00b could understand, lol )

Thank you sooo much in advance for any help!
akddFdd.gif

Comments

• rosemowrosemow Posts: 163,594 Member
    Hello
    I will quote here what was written by EA on a thread on the AHQ EA site.
    http://answers.ea.com/t5/Origin/Moving-My-Origin-Games-To-Another-Hard-Drive/td-p/4402152
    Yes you can move your games to the second hard drive. Easiest way to do this is the following:
    Make sure that the download directory in your Origin client reflects your desired location (Origin menu - Application Settings - Advanced).
    Start the download for the game, but pause it as soon as the progress bar appears.
    Move your game folder on your C drive to the newly created folder on your second hard drive
    Just repeat the process for all your games and you should be good to go.

More info: http://help.ea.com/en/article/backing-up-and-restoring-your-origin-games/

The more information link helps to explain the process.
    http://help.ea.com/en/article/backing-up-and-restoring-your-origin-games
    With the new look of the origin program though, the location of where things are in origin may be different.
    ' My games "has now been replaced by "Games Library" , and the application settings area has a different look.
  • FreedomdeepFreedomdeep Posts: 99 Member