Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Tutorials~

spackichanspackichan Posts: 1,183 Member
So, I've been asked for a bunch of tutorials, and I thought I'd open a thread to host them. (It'll probably take me awhile to get through everything, and I'm not really good with words so bare with me!) If you have any questions/requests I'm more than happy to explain and show you the best I can.

Remember this is the way I do it, and it's probably nowhere near as great as some of the other tutorials out there! (*cough Jillie *cough*) If these don't work so well for you, don't be disheartened!
(◡ ‿ ◡ ✿)
Post edited by spackichan on

Comments

• spackichanspackichan Posts: 1,183 Member
    edited August 2015
    *BASIC* skin shading.

-

I usually begin skin shading once I've cut out my sim and have them on the appropriate background. People sometimes shade their sims before they do anything, and I guess you can too. But I like to get them onto whatever background I'm going to be using - and deciding where my light and dark sources are and can shade appropriately.

For this example, I'll be using a plain grey background.

iqvmu1.png

Let's keep things nice and simple, I've marked my light and dark sources on a seperate layer (though you don't have to do this!)

2yywizp.png

This is where the way I shade starts to get a lil' different. Using the eyedropper tool, pinch your sims skin colour (preferrably a darker area, like near her nose, or under her jaw) and then darken it considerably.

wk1z4.png

Alright: set your new layer to multiply. I don't use soft light or overlay for base shading, the multiply tool usually gives me the effect I prefer. Shade as you usually would, using your darker skin tone colour. This is the only main difference I use when shading - it's pretty standard stuff.

2cigpbc.jpg