Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Weird thing just happened! (Fixed itself)

Akl500PAkl500P Posts: 2,986 Member
edited November 2017 in PC - Technical Discussions
Hello simmers,
This may have nothing to do with sims, but a minute ago I opened my laptop and half of it was fuzzy and the other half was black. The screen was blinking and acting crazy. Turning it off completely fixed the problem, but I am panicked now. I am not sure what the cause was but research suggests video card overheating.

A couple things to note about this. I just started playing the sims 4 heavily in the past few days, so maybe I should be taking it in smaller intervals or something like I did previously so I do not completely wear out my video card. I also happened to update my video card driver today, so another possibility for the cause. Core Temp when I play has not gotten close to max temp, its around 60-70F and the fan does not run hard at all. Hotter than normal sure, but not deadly since it usually runs about 55 anyway. Today was also light play compared to the last three days so I am not sure why this would all the sudden be a problem. Driver update is what I am thinking, but I am not sure and I am no tech expert.