Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Expansion Packs

2...Next

Comments

• DragonCat159DragonCat159 Posts: 1,896 Member
    RnM92 wrote: »
    Personally I am not happy with the Sims 4 expansion packs. Call me fussy, but I have been playing the Sims since the first game came out in 2000, and all the excuses I keep hearing about why the Sims 4 EPs aren't as good as the previous games' EPs make me furious. Expansion packs for a game that are being made in 2017 should not be inferior to ones made ten to twenty years ago using much older technology. They should be BETTER. No ifs no buts. There should also be two a year not one like it is now. I didn't get any Sims 3 expansion packs, (so I can't comment on those) but then that's because it came out when I was a student and couldn't afford the packs or had time to play it.

Anyway Get Together is probably the best of the lot, as it had a reasonably good world and the club system was new. Even then I got bored fairly quickly and the club system wasn't fleshed out nearly enough. Get to Work had a great idea (going to work with your sims) but poorly realised. The careers were fairly monotonous after a while and seemed broken and unpolished, though the science one was quite fun overall. I'm also very disappointed there were only three. Pretty lazy if you ask me, it felt half done. EPs for previous sims games would have concentrated on many more live careers and ditched the retail bit. That afterall did have its own pack in the Sims 2 and it needed to in order to be fully developed. That actually brings me to the retail. Compared to the Sims 2 it was atrocious. Stripped of everything that made it good in S2, it was buggy, tedious and really difficult to make any money. Was not fun in the slightest, hence I've only tried doing retail once or twice. I think they were trying to put too many different ideas into GTW and they all suffered being too shallow and unfinished as a result.