Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Playing them all at once?

Hi, I'm kind of new to Sims. We recently bought the Sims 3 and quite a few expansion packs. My understanding of an "expansion pack" is that it is to EXPAND the game play and give you more to do on the base game. Therefor I was under the impression that by purchasing the expansion packs I would be able to attach them to the base game and play them all....at the SAME TIME. Unfortunately this doesn't seem to be the case. I have looked it up and I see multiple people who say "Yes, you can install ALL of them and play them together", however it seems I have to select only one at a time and play them as if they are separate games? Is this correct? Am I missing something? Cause this just doesn't seem right to me....it's not an "expansion" if it does not "expand" the original game, it's just a separate game with different features. Please help!!

Comments

• james64468james64468 Posts: 1,276 Member
    You can check them all. Just press cancel.
  • gildaratliff25gildaratliff25 Posts: 3 New Member
    I checked them all, and went into the game, ignoring the "warning" it gives. When I do this, none of the expansions are available for play at all.
  • lisasc360lisasc360 Posts: 19,278 Member
    I'm guessing that you must be patched up to 1.69 if your getting that message about only being able to play with certain packs. The patch allows for people to pick and choose which packs that they want to play with but a lot of people have been getting what you have gotten about disabling some packs. It's only doing that because the launcher thinks that you would get optimal game play by leaving some of them out. As james64468 has said that you can check all of them and still play the game the way that you want to play.