JANUARY 11 - It's Patch Day for The Sims 4 on PC/MAC! Check out whats fixed.

New to The Sims 4 on Mac? Look no further!

12346...Next

Comments

  • M_azing_designsM_azing_designs Posts: 5 New Member
    So far, no complaints at all as far as how the game runs. I have all the graphics and such set on low just to be safe.

    I will say though, I hate the camera and controls in this version compared to Sims 3. I want to be able to tip the camera up and down instead of spinning it, and the scroll to zoom in and out is way too touchy.
  • BluebellFloraBluebellFlora Posts: 6,885 Member
    So far, no complaints at all as far as how the game runs. I have all the graphics and such set on low just to be safe.

    I will say though, I hate the camera and controls in this version compared to Sims 3. I want to be able to tip the camera up and down instead of spinning it, and the scroll to zoom in and out is way too touchy.

    Go into the camera options and set it to the Sims 3 controls.
    apple-signature.png
  • Momo315Momo315 Posts: 2 New Member
    Hi! I had the same problem with the control/shift/c buttons not working. If you have origin, right click on Sims 4 game icon in "my game library" and then click "repair". That goes through all of the extra content to make sure everything is reset and working.

    Let me know if this works.


    Thanks
  • MemetasticMemetastic Posts: 16 New Member
    Hey all! I recently got a Mac, here are the specs:
    Early 2015 13" MBP with Retina Display
    3.1 GHz Intel Core i7
    16 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
    Intel Iris Graphics 6100 1536 MB

    Whenever I run Sims 4 (I have 2 expansions, 2 GPs, 1 Stuff pack, NO CC or Mods), my fans get VERY loud. I'm wondering if this is okay? I know the fans don't trigger until the laptop starts to overheat but I don't want to wear out the fans or do harm to my laptop if it's overheating all the time when I play Sims. I have the graphics set on the lowest option. Is there anything I can do to fix this?
  • jksaulogjksaulog Posts: 2 New Member
    Hi my game is just stuck on loading screen on top. The game is still on behind the rotating thing that indicates loading. I don't want to quit my app cause I haven't saved my game's progress which I played for hours. Please help me without doing everything again :(
  • BluebellFloraBluebellFlora Posts: 6,885 Member
    Memetastic wrote: »
    Hey all! I recently got a Mac, here are the specs:
    Early 2015 13" MBP with Retina Display
    3.1 GHz Intel Core i7
    16 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
    Intel Iris Graphics 6100 1536 MB

    Whenever I run Sims 4 (I have 2 expansions, 2 GPs, 1 Stuff pack, NO CC or Mods), my fans get VERY loud. I'm wondering if this is okay? I know the fans don't trigger until the laptop starts to overheat but I don't want to wear out the fans or do harm to my laptop if it's overheating all the time when I play Sims. I have the graphics set on the lowest option. Is there anything I can do to fix this?

    Make sure your Mac is elevated so air can circulate underneath - the aluminium casing is designed to help dissipate heat. Your Mac has integrated Intel graphics which aren't designed for gaming but it should be ok-ish on low settings.
    apple-signature.png
  • BluebellFloraBluebellFlora Posts: 6,885 Member
    jksaulog wrote: »
    Hi my game is just stuck on loading screen on top. The game is still on behind the rotating thing that indicates loading. I don't want to quit my app cause I haven't saved my game's progress which I played for hours. Please help me without doing everything again :(

    You'll have to click on the Apple in the menu bar then Force Quit and choose to force quit the game, you'll lose your game progress unfortunately :(
    apple-signature.png
  • daenerystubborndaenerystubborn Posts: 179 Member
    edited November 2017
    Posted in the wrong thread, sorry!
    Post edited by daenerystubborn on
    Origin ID: daenerystubborn | My SUPERNATURAL (TV show) Sims | English isn't my first language, so please excuse any mistakes.
    tumblr_n8pqhqmpdh1th4xn0o1_400.gif
  • AbbyVVfifaAbbyVVfifa Posts: 2 New Member
    I am running SIMS 4 on an iMac and want to move it to a new iMac, possibly a Mac Mini.
    What to do?
    Looks like a new install?
    How to get all the characters and houses - will they automatically download?

    Is anything stored on the current iMac?
    If so, what and where is it stored?


    Are there any concerns about running SIMs 4 on a Mac Mini?
    How much RAM should I have?
  • Tremayne4260Tremayne4260 Posts: 2,845 Member
    Get at least 32 GB of RAM on an iMac. It really is a life saver. Secondly, all your saves and houses and CC/Mods are saved in the Sims 4 folder found under Documents > Electronic Arts > Sims 4. You will need to install Sims 4 on your new computer and then copy your Sims 4 folder on a thumb drive or using direct connect, but trash the Options.ini file. Start up Sims 4 on your new computer to allow the game to generate the Sims 4 folder once more and then you can copy and paste the contents from your original file.
    Second Star to the Right and Straight on 'til Morning.
  • AbbyVVfifaAbbyVVfifa Posts: 2 New Member
    Tremayne4260 - Thank you for the insights.


    Our EA > SIMS 4 folder is 40GB. Is that a reasonable size? What are typical sizes of these folders?




    We have 24 GB RAM on the current iMac... SIMS 4 really needs 32?!?!
    Is this true for other platforms - Windows, X-Box, Playstation, or wherever else? or is it an Apple / Mac requirement?

    On our Mac, only SIMS 4 and iMovie make the iMac's cooling fan run. So, is this just really graphics intensive (clearly great graphics!)?

    I'm also curious...

    Our iMac is "Late 2015," 3.3 GHz Intel Core i5.

    For a couple reasons I'm exploring a Mac Mini for SIMS 4... looks like the Mac Mini maxes at 3.00 GHz i7 (> an i5) and 16 GB of RAM... do you think this would this be noticeably, or even significantly slower than the iMac?

    Wouldn't any performance drops be more from RAM than CPU? Would the hard drive matter - Fusion drive vs. PCIe-based flash storage? I would think RAM would matter (but limited to 16 GB), but hard drive would only have a negligible impact on starting and saving speeds.



    Thanks!
  • Tremayne4260Tremayne4260 Posts: 2,845 Member
    Sims 4 needs 8GB to run, however with newer iMacs it is hard to get more RAM after purchasing. I recommend it simply because it does not cause strain on your computer as more is always better. :)

    I am not sure how large my Sims 4 folder is, but it isn't 40GB (I don't have a lot of CC/Mod in my game as it causes lag).
    Second Star to the Right and Straight on 'til Morning.
  • mma00000000mma00000000 Posts: 4 New Member
    It's been awhile since I've played and used to play on a PC. Now I'm looking to use my old macbook pro to potentially play but unsure if/how well it will work especially after reading some comments in these threads. I've read the minimum system requirements but computer specs isn't really my language. This what I have:
    MacBook Pro (13-inch, Early 2011)
    OS X El Capitan Version 10.11.6
    Processor 2.3GHz Intel Core i5
    Memory 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
    Graphics Intel HD Graphics 3000 384MB

    If it makes a difference, I do plan on restoring my computer back to factory setting first. Thank you!!
  • BluebellFloraBluebellFlora Posts: 6,885 Member
    It's been awhile since I've played and used to play on a PC. Now I'm looking to use my old macbook pro to potentially play but unsure if/how well it will work especially after reading some comments in these threads. I've read the minimum system requirements but computer specs isn't really my language. This what I have:
    MacBook Pro (13-inch, Early 2011)
    OS X El Capitan Version 10.11.6
    Processor 2.3GHz Intel Core i5
    Memory 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
    Graphics Intel HD Graphics 3000 384MB

    If it makes a difference, I do plan on restoring my computer back to factory setting first. Thank you!!

    You may be able to play on low settings but as you add more packs/CC/Mods to the game it may well lag. The Intel HD 3000 isn't really powerful enough for gaming. If. you already own the game then just download it on your Mac and give it a go :)
    apple-signature.png
12346...Next
Sign In or Register to comment.
Return to top