Forum Announcement, Click Here to Read More From EA_Cade.

Edit town problem. placing lots

I am new to using these forums, so excuse me if I am posting this wrong.

I am trying to edit the basic town on the sims 3. I saved the community lots and then bulldozed some. I then bulldozed the empty lot in the hope I could change the size to add a different sized community lot. It would not let me add anything but the lot sizes that were even smaller than the original size, they just show up red. None of them look bigger than the bit of smooth grass I wish to add them too? I even tried typing "moveobects on" and nothing.

Is there a reason for this or a way around it? thanks :-)

Comments

• Options
    normiecraynormiecray Posts: 6
    edited February 2014
    What I mean is, placing the grids on lots. I can't place the grids
  • Options
    Nik24X7Nik24X7 Posts: 7,865 Member
    edited February 2014
    While the lots appeared to be empty, they might have had invisible spawners on them which aren't removed when you delete a lot. Therefore, they are in the way when you attempt to place a new lot over them. Parks in particular often have them. It's best to turn on cheats, open the cheat window and type BUYDEBUG ON. Go into edit mode on the lot and you'll see white boxes that are the spawners. Delete them before deleting the lot.
    Origin ID: nik24x7
  • Options
    normiecraynormiecray Posts: 6
    edited February 2014
    Thank you! I will try that out. That sounds like it makes much sense :-)
  • Options
    Nik24X7Nik24X7 Posts: 7,865 Member
    edited February 2014