NOVEMBER 15 - It's Patch Day for The Sims 4! Check out whats fixed.
The Sims 4 Cats & Dogs: Create The Most Unique Pets With Create A Pet! Read more on the blog.
The Sims 4 Is Coming To Xbox One and PlayStation 4! Read the blog for more info.

Clearing Caches

Faith12368Faith12368 Posts: 2,997 Member
I see everyone on here talking about "clearing caches" and I was wondering exactly how you do that and which ones. Are they all the files that have the word "cache" in their folder name? I would really like to know, thanx in advance! :)
Long live the new Doctor!

Comments

  • yoashmoyoashmo Posts: 482 Member
    edited July 2011
    in documents/electronic arts/sims 3 folder delete:

    * CASPartCache.package
    * compositorCache.package
    * scriptCache.package
    * simCompositorCache.package

    in documents/electronic arts/sims 3/worldcaches folder delete:

    -everything in folder, which is most likely:

    * Riverview_objects.package
    * Riverview_sims.package
  • Faith12368Faith12368 Posts: 2,997 Member
    edited July 2011
    Thank you very much, I appreciate the help. :)
    Long live the new Doctor!
  • cholia1234cholia1234 Posts: 913 New Member
    edited July 2011
    Like Yoashmo above said, also you should go into your Thumbnails folder which is located Documents/Electronic Arts/Sims3/ Thumbnails and delete EVERYTHING in there too also go into your DCCache folder which is located Documents/Electronic Arts/ Sims3/ DCCache and delete the missingdeps.idx file. You should do this ever time before you start your game xD
  • yoashmoyoashmo Posts: 482 Member
    edited July 2011
    @cholia1234
    she only needs to delete those cache files if she is having thumbnail or store content issues in game. bc the game will take a while to regenerate those cache files. so i usually only delete those if your having specific problems having to do with what is stored in those cache files. imo its not worth the wait to do it everytime you start up your game, especially if you dont have any game issues having to do with thumbnails or store content.

  • cholia1234cholia1234 Posts: 913 New Member
    edited July 2011
    Hmphh, Well for me I have to delete caches before I play my game orelse the game freezes,...So I thought maybe if she had the same problem it would be better to do so. But it's always good to be extra clean with your game :lol:
  • yoashmoyoashmo Posts: 482 Member
    edited July 2011
    im sorry i didnt mean to come across as rude. thats a sucky problem. do you use the launcher?
  • HeathhaHeathha Posts: 375 Member
    edited July 2011
    What does clearing your cache do?
  • CuddlyBunCuddlyBun Posts: 6,514 New Member
    edited July 2011
    Heathha wrote:
    What does clearing your cache do?
    Cache files hold temporary information so your game loads faster when you zoom across the neighborhood. Over time they become really big files and deleting them can help speed up your game's loading speed. When you restart the game after deleting them, the game will create new ones. After you reload the game, it should be faster the second time you play (after deleting the caches). :)
  • cholia1234cholia1234 Posts: 913 New Member
    edited July 2011
    yoashmo wrote:
    im sorry i didnt mean to come across as rude. thats a sucky problem. do you use the launcher?

    Naw, it's okay :P I do use the launcher yes..Wait do you mean like to start the game ? Sorry i'm a bit dumb :roll: lol
  • monjr8302monjr8302 Posts: 141 Member
    edited July 2011
    I installed the Sunset Valley second edition, if I delete the everything in the WorldCache file folder, what will it do? Does it delete that world?
  • Faith12368Faith12368 Posts: 2,997 Member
    edited July 2011
    monjr8302 wrote:
    I installed the Sunset Valley second edition, if I delete the everything in the WorldCache file folder, what will it do? Does it delete that world?

    I use this too and it did not clear it off my game at all. :)
    Long live the new Doctor!
  • avatar101Aavatar101A Posts: 1 New Member
    Hello. Clearing caches by yourself is quite easy. First you go to the "control panel", then to "Internet Options", then click "settings", then click "everytime I go to the website" - then click "view files" then push- cntrl A on your keyboard, then click "organize" ( top left) scroll down and click "delete". A box might pop up saying "are you sure you want to delete these caches?" Click yes.
  • igazorigazor Posts: 13,349 Member
    edited October 13
    avatar101A wrote: »
    Hello. Clearing caches by yourself is quite easy. First you go to the "control panel", then to "Internet Options", then click "settings", then click "everytime I go to the website" - then click "view files" then push- cntrl A on your keyboard, then click "organize" ( top left) scroll down and click "delete". A box might pop up saying "are you sure you want to delete these caches?" Click yes.
    None of which has anything to do with TS3 game folder caches. Was that really meant to be a serious response to a game file related question asked over six years ago? :)
  • JoAnne65JoAnne65 Posts: 18,296 Member
    I think someone fell into this topic googling, not realizing where they were exactly :D
    zAauDCL.png
  • eric6a01eric6a01 Posts: 56 Member
    Clear the caches can help reduce lag, but still freeze sometimes.
Sign In or Register to comment.
Return to top